Wednesday, July 18, 2012


Last week, the Obama campaign and the Democratic National Committee released the names of those who will serve on its various convention-related standing committees – Platform, Rules and Credentials. In one surprise, Newark, N.J., Mayor Corey Booker (pictured below) was chosen to chair the full Platform Committee. He was thought to be on the outs with the White House after criticizing the president’s campaign for its ads attacking former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney’s record at Bain Capital. Three North Carolinians were tapped: N.C. State Treasurer Janet Cowell of Raleigh (Credentials vice chair); state Sen. Dan Blue of Raleigh (Rules); and Carboro consultant Diane Robertson. Here are some other notable names announced as members of the various panels: -U.S. Rep. Barney Frank, D-Mass., Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter and Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick (all on the Platform drafting committee). -American Federation of Teachers President Randi Weingarten, Detroit Mayor Dave Bing, Cherokee Nation member Keith Harper of Oklahoma (all on the full Platform Committee). -Retired Lt. Col. Tammy Duckworth, a Democratic House candidate in Illinois; Columbus, Ohio, Mayor Michael Coleman, Richmond, Va., Mayor Dwight Jones (all on the Rules Committee). -Former Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin, Colorado Lt. Gov. Joe Garcia, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, former Iowa Gov. Chet Culver, and Boston Mayor Thomas Menino (all on Credentials). Tim Funk